spring. (Thailand)

About two years ago I had a friend who shared a video with me. It was about this couple who traveled through Patagonia together and elected to document it using film. I was enthralled by their story and their unique style. After sifting through some of their other videos I discovered this one. I found it fitting as I am currently sitting in a coffee shop in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

I have been in Thailand for over two weeks now, and this is just the beginning of my adventures through Southeast Asia. When I begin to lose sight of why I am here, or get overwhelmed by the immense flow of new people, information, places, food, and experiences, I try to remember this video. The little unexpected treasures of traveling are some of the most enriching and unforgettable stepping-stones of the journey. The force of culture shock and change that can sometimes knock you down and convince you not to take another leap forward is your worst enemy here. The process of overcoming this force begins with the everyday growth, the acceptance of change, and the beauty of what you unearth when you are not looking.

I hope others will enjoy this video as much as I did. Thank you to Gnarly Bay for encouraging our generation to explore and embrace the challenge of change.

2 thoughts on “spring. (Thailand)

  1. Thank you Lydia. The video I am saving to watch again and again. Such a poignant expression expanding the old saying, “don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.” You my girl have ALWAYS tried to take a pace not of this world as so many see it. Thank you for sharing your perception with us. It fills me with longing of days when… though I was never as adventurous as you. I look forward to your future postings. Stay healthy and filled with that curious joy of yours. Love you!

Leave a Reply

